Established in 1939 in Oxford as the Mary Buie Museum, the University of Mississippi Museum and Historic Houses holds the largest collection of fine arts and artifacts at an academic museum in the state of Mississippi. The collection consists of the Seymour Lawrence Collection of American Art, the David M. Robinson Collection of Greek and Roman Antiquities, the Millington-Barnard Collection of Scientific Instruments, and the Hattie Mae Edmonds Collection of Southern Folk Art, which includes Oxford’s own Theora Hamblett and Sulton Rogers.

The Seymour Lawrence Gallery houses the Lawrence Collection of American Art and includes meaningful works by Georgia O’Keeffe, John Marin, and Milton Avery.

The Porter and Elizabeth Fortune Gallery was added in 1998 to host a variety of traveling exhibitions and new acquisitions. The endowed acquisition fund is also named in their honor.

William Faulkner’s Rowan Oak and the Walton-Young Historic House are also included in the museum complex.