Archives for May 2016

Our Faith Affirmed—Works from the Gordon W. Bailey Collection

Angels Playing Music by Purvis Young

Angels Playing Music by Purvis Young

September 10 2014 – August 8 2015

The University of Mississippi Museum of Art presents Our Faith Affirmed—Works from the Gordon W. Bailey Collection. Curated by the Los Angeles-based, scholar and collector Gordon W. Bailey the important exhibition features works by 27 artists, born between 1900 and 1959. Many of the artists are widely known and several, most notably, Thornton Dial Sr, Roy Ferdinand, Bessie Harvey, Lonnie Holley, Robert Howell, Joe Light, Charlie Lucas, Jimmy Lee Sudduth, and Purvis Young are considered self-taught masters.

The powerful exhibition underscores the significance of Southern vernacular artists whose influence extends far beyond the realm of aesthetics. The artworks exude an authority of experience and directness of expression that bears witness to the considerable weight of Southern history, the saga of American politics, and, most clearly, to their faith and clarity of vision. Bailey suggested: “The arts are our cultural mortar. They solidify the bridges connecting diverse communities. Though the region is rooted in conflict, there are many good people of all races, genders, and socio-economic levels pulling, or in some cases, pushing in the same direction.”

Image: Angels Playing Music, Purvis Young

Not found, error 404

Friends of the Museum’s Annual Harvest Supper

Harvest Supper, Friends of the Museum annual fundraiser. Set on the grounds of Rowan Oak, the event benefits University of Mississippi Museum and Historic Houses.

Annual Harvest Supper at Rowan Oak

The Friends of the Museum is a volunteer organization that supports museum fundraising, advocacy and special programing. Harvest Supper, hosted by the Friends, prides itself on being a showcase of local and regional artists, musicians, and chefs. Annually, the event connects alumni, local residents, and out-of-town guests with artists, writers, and musicians for dinner and entertainment on the historic grounds of Rowan Oak, the former home of Nobel Prize-winning author William Faulkner, in Oxford, Mississippi.

The generosity of sponsors, ticket sales, and art auction proceeds enable the Friends to target specific museum needs to enrich the overall museum experience. Repeatedly named as one of the top college museums in the nation, the UM Museum hosts visitors from all 50 states, as well as 58 countries. In addition, the museum’s educational programming reaches more than 10,000 North Mississippi students and children each year. 

Through Harvest Supper, the Friends has been able to give more than $100,000 annually to the museum, most of which comes from sponsorships. To learn more about Harvest Supper sponsorship opportunities, click here. 

Harvest Supper 2018 will be Thursday, October 18 at 6:30 p.m.

Click Here for 2018 event information and Here for online art auction information and bidding. 

Interested in past Harvest Suppers? See below. 


Individuals, businesses and other organizations became Harvest Supper sponsors at these levels:

  • Presenting Level: $10,000 and up
  • Platinum Level: $5,000 to $10,000
  • Gold Level: $2,500 to $5,000
  • Silver Level: $1,000 to $2,500
  • Bronze Level: $500 to $1,000

Sponsors were listed on 550+ event invitations mailed in August as well as included on the website, and other communications about the event. The various sponsorship levels also guaranteed tickets to the Harvest Supper, admission passes to Rowan Oak, membership to the University Museum and much more. For information on becoming a sponsor for the 2018 Harvest Supper, please email the museum.

Proceeds from the evening will help support numerous aspects of the University Museum, including acquisitions, the Conversations guest lecture series, exhibitions, educational programming and special events. The event also supports maintenance and operating costs for Rowan Oak and the Walton-Young Historic House, also managed by the museum.


Harvest Supper on the Grounds of Rowan Oak

Crowd at Harvest Supper
Presented by the Friends of the University Museum

Thursday, September 22, 2016, 7:00 p.m.

Last year’s Harvest Supper was a magical experience. So mark your calendars now to join us for another enchanted evening at Rowan Oak.

$150 Per Ticket

Proceeds to Benefit the University Museum and Historic Houses

um_mapbuild3PARKING: There will be parking for guests at the ‘South Lot’ which is on the corner of Old Taylor Road and Old Taylor Road. The Rebel Ride Trolley will be transporting guest to/from the lot and the end of Rowan Oak’s driveway. Please follow the parking directional signs which will be placed around the area.

Rain Plan: If raining, Harvest Supper will be moved to the Museum.


Jason Bouldin
Langdon Clay
Maude Schuyler Clay
Bill Dunlap
Randy Hayes
Philip Jackson
Terry Lynn
Robert Malone
Kathleen Robbins
Brooke White
Carlyle Wolfe

Please click here for more information about the art for auction during Harvest Supper.


University of Mississippi Steel Orchestra
Shannon McNally


A & N Catering
City Grocery
Elizabeth Heiskell and
Woodson Ridge Farms


Presenting Level
Madison Charitable Foundation
Blake Tartt III- NRP Oxford

Platinum Level
Diane and Dickie Scruggs
The Self Foundation

Gold Level
Robin and John Cocke
Darrell Crawford
Marty and John Dunbar
Friends of Dorothy and Tom Howorth
Marla and Lowry Lomax
Marye and Paul Moore
Saint Leo
Mary Thompson
Margaret Wylde and Ken Wooten

Silver Level
Baptist Memorial Hospital North MS
Susan Bryan
Melissa Swetland and Danny Bulian
Charter Road
Hospitality, Inc.
Dr. and Mrs. Steve Cockerham
Jan and Lawrence Farrington
Susan and Bowen Flowers
Lassie and Harry Flowers
Eddie and Martha Dale Fritts
Mary Ann and Don Frugé
Hardy Reed
Sam and Mary Haskell
Gayle and Michael Henry
Howorth & Associates Architects
Hughes Brown, PLLC
Jasmine Art Glass
Vikki Hughes and Price Johnson
LaRousse Salon & The Spa at LaRousse
Leslie and Mark Lee
Dr. Billy and Rebecca Long
Jeff and Elizabeth Lusk
Olivia and Archie Manning
Susan and David McCormick
Karen and Bruce Moore
Neilsen & Co.
Ambassador John Palmer and Carol Puckett
Jim and Mary Sharp Rayner
RJ Allen & Associates
Jane Thomas Rogers
Bob and Cindy Seibels
Carolyn and Bill Simmons
Rose and Hubert Spears
Machelle and Ernie Williams

Bronze Level
Bayou Birds
David and Shawn Brevard
Jennifer and Pat Caldwell
Rachel and David Calhoun
Diala and Phillip Chaney
Joy and John C. Clark
Myrna Colley-Lee
cdp Landscape Architecture
Jason Derrick
Paige and Glen Evans
FNB Oxford Bank
Graduate Oxford
Lee Harris
Holcomb Dunbar, Attorneys
Tish Horton
Katrina and Mike Hourin
Elizabeth and Andy Howorth
Lori Liston and Matthew Johnson
Jerry and Gloria Kellum
Tiffany Kilpatrick
Dorothy and John Laurenzo
Lindsey and Jason Leach
Amy and Slade Lewis
Patty and Will Lewis
Bobby Jo and Robert McConnell
Donna and Charlie Merkel
Connie and Eric Mott
Joli and Mac Nichols
Mary Ann and Roy Percy
Rebecca and Locke Phillips
Linda and Holly Raney
Robert Saarnio
Sample and Poole Properties, LLC
Jody and Pick Scruggs
Mary and Mark Solomon
Pat and Patty Tatum
Sonia and Wright Thompson
Trent Lott Leadership Institute
Melody and John Webb
Lynn and Will Wilkins

A&N Catering
Cathead Vodka
Capel Howorth
City Grocery
Lazy Magnolia
Magnolia Rental
Magnolia Wine & Spirits
Oxford Floral
Woodson Ridge Farms
Yalobusha Brewing Co

Board Members 2016–17:

Carlyle Wolfe

Joy Clark
Vice President

John Dunbar

Mary Thompson

Lynn Wilkins
Past President

Allyson Best
Mary Ann Frugé
Donna Gottshall
John Hardy
Gayle Henry
Dorothy Howorth
Terry Lynn
Ron Nurnberg
Diane Scruggs
Mary Solomon
Zach Tutor
Brooke White