About

The University of Mississippi Museum holds a fascinating wealth of objects, fine art, and artifacts. The museum was established in 1939 in Oxford as the historic Buie Museum and expanded with the addition of the Skipwith Teaching Museum in 1975.

From the Millington and Barnard Collection of 19th century scientific instruments to the Robinson Collection of Greek and Roman Antiquities, the collection includes an incredible Southern Folk Art collection of Oxford’s own Theora Hamblett and Sulton Rogers.

The Seymour Lawrence Gallery houses the Lawrence Collection of American Art, which includes meaningful works by Georgia O’Keeffe, John Marin, and Milton Avery.

The Porter and Elizabeth Fortune Gallery was also added in 1998 to host a variety of traveling exhibitions and new acquisitions. The endowed acquisition fund is also named in their honor.

William Faulkner’s Rowan Oak and The Walton-Young Historic House complete the historic opportunities the museum has to offer with a full complement of educational programming and many opportunities to excite and educate.